What is Love?

23 Jul

Slip your palm into the palm of another,

rushing across the street toward your absolute favorite Indian restaurant…


Speaking the thoughts that flow through your mind,

lacking any awareness of how they fall upon another’s ears…


Dancing like a schoolgirl by the living room window,

hoping he’s watching as your spirit soars…


Gazing into another’s eyes,

wishing that everyday is full of dreams realized and fears abolished…


Sharing a star filled night together,

two sets of eyes gazing upon the bright rings of Saturn…


Acceptance of differences,

understanding that the glue that binds you isn’t always so sticky…


The taste of your lips,

commitment unspoken…


The acknowledgement of creation,

and the acceptance of death…


A soft cheek nestled against a strong chest,

only aware of the pitter patter of life deep within…


Someone to share the world with,

two sets of eyes to see the sunrise and the sunset…


Did you hold me when I cried?

Did you laugh at all my jokes?

Did you feed me when I was full of hunger?

Did you nurse me when I was ill?

Did you guide me when I was lost?

Did you share new adventures with me?



That is LOVE.  Pure and simple.

Like water flowing from a cool mountain brook, it’s the essence of life.

2 Responses to “What is Love?”

  1. Nazanine July 23, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Sounds like you know what you’re talking about. If that’s not love then I don’t know what it is!

  2. McFly August 7, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    WordPress needs a “like” button! 🙂

Leave a Reply

